ArtInfo News, profiles of top and emerging artists, stories about collectors and collecting, gallery round-ups from around the world, the best of student art, market trends and analysis, and detailed coverage of art fairs.
Artdaily.org A daily newspaper established in 1996 devoted to reporting on art and artists.
Art Deadlines List Monthly newsletter with several hundred announcements of art contests, competitions, scholarships & grants, exhibitions, art jobs & internships, etc. An expanded version available by paid subscription.
Euromuse.net Exhibition portal for major exhibitions in European museums.
Writing about Art Prepared by Marjorie Munsterberg of City College, New York, and intended to help students improve their ability to write about visual things.
Barnet, Sylvan. A Short Guide to Writing about Art. 11th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Education Inc, c2015. Useful guide that is now in its 11th edition. Shows how to analyze art and suggests tools needed for effective writing.
Chicago Manual of Style Online. 16th ed. The style guide primarily used in humanities fields such as art history.
Oxford Art Online, An encyclopedia of art information and a good starting point for research. Allows simultaneous searching of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Content includes biographies, subject entries, bibliographies, images, and learning resources. Articles are signed by recognized scholars.
AskART, Biographies for more than 52,000 American artists from the early 16th-century through the present. Entry may include images, bibliography, and museum information.
Biographical Dictionary of Kansas Artists (active before 1945), Short biographies for more than 2600 artists who were born in or artistically active in the state before 1945.
A catalogue raisonné is a publication that provides a comprehensive catalogue of artwork by an artist. Sometimes the catalogue raisonne is limited to a specific medium, a time period, or a genre but, whatever the restriction, it purports to be an exhaustive list of works for a defined subject matter describing the works so that they may be reliably identified by third parties. This type of resource is relied upon by scholars, collectors, and dealers to validate authenticy.
The KU Libraries are actively collecting DVDs and Streaming Videos.
To locate specific DVDs, use the Library Catalog or go to the Library and browse the DVDs. Library DVDs are usually available to be checked out for 1 week. Here is a sample of what's available in the Art & Architecture Library - Video/DVD collection:
Art 21: Art in the Twenty-first Century. 220 min. Highlights from seasons one and two. Presents 18 diverse artists working in the United States, taking viewers behind the scenes - and beyond the museum or gallery experience - into artists’ studios, homes, and communities to provide an intimate view of their lives, work, creative processes, and sources of inspiration.
Rembrandt: 400 years. DVD + CD-ROM. 90 min. An intimate view of Rembrandt and his work and world. Many of his masterpieces are reviewed in detail with special attention to The Nightwatch.
Simon Schama's Power of Art. 3 discs. 400 min. Focusing on eight iconic works of art, this series reveals the history of visual imagination through the ages.
Use the Guide to Streaming Videos to identify the various products available at KU and to learn how to use them in your classes. Here are some examples of available art videos:
Olafur Eliasson: Space Is Process. 51 min. with 16 segments. Filmed over a period of five years, this program follows the Danish-Icelandic artist's work in locations around the world.
Troublemakers: The Story of Land Art. 71 min. Troublemakers unearths the history of land art in the tumultuous late 1960s and early 1970s. The film features a cadre of renegade New York artists that sought to transcend the limitations of painting and sculpture by producing earthworks on a monumental scale in the desolate desert spaces of the American Southwest.