Getting Full Text
If you do not see a PDF version of the article you need, click on the "Get at KU" button. This will provide a list of where the full text is available. You may also click on a link to do a search in the KU catalog to determine if KU has the print. And if it is not available use the link to order it through Interlibrary Loan.
Scholarly Articles
These databases index scholarly articles in history or related disciplines. If the full-text is not available use the "Get at KU" button to track down the actual article. Databases covering other subjects also contain historical materials. If researching a historical aspect of education, for example, be sure to search ERIC the discipline's essential index.
- America: history and life This link opens in a new windowAmerica: History and Life indexes articles, book reviews, and other secondary literature dealing with the United States and Canada.
- Google Scholar (includes Get at KU) This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar can be a great place to identify materials when traditional databases fail. Use the "Cited By" link under each citation to find other relevant materials.
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts indexes articles covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada from 1450 to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to older scholarly journals, among them almost 130 important history titles. Publication dates include most of the twentieth century.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowThere are over 60 history titles published by The Johns Hopkins University Press accessible in ProjectMUSE. Coverage begins in 1995.
Subject Guide
Sara Morris
Contact:
Watson Library, Room 350
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
785-864-8907