Traditional Print Books
There are two primary ways to identify books. One is searching catalogs, like the KU Libraries Catalog and WorldCat. The other is to utilize bibliographies from books and articles. Once you have a title of a work, use a catalogs to determine if it is at KU or available for Interlibrary Loan.
- KU Libraries CatalogThe KU Libraries Catalog identifies materials available on campus. Use a Keyword search to start--then use subject headings to find additional materials.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat can be used to identify primary and secondary sources not held in the KU collection. Once identified, materials can be request through Interlibrary Loan.
Electronic Books
- Google book search This link opens in a new windowGoogle Book Search contains a diverse collection of books. Although much of the material is older, there is a growing amount of current information. Google Books is a great place to do keyword searching on topics within monographs.
- HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new windowThis large digital library includes the collections of many of the United States' largest research collections. KU's membership in the trust grants our patrons the ability to download entire works that are out of copyright.
- Internet ArchiveThis digital crowd sourced archive contains all type of materials.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowOver 20,000 academic titles that cover all fields. A great feature of this database is that you can keyword search all the titles. It is a great way to uncover people, organizations, and other ideas within the pages.
Subject Guide
Sara Morris
Contact:
Watson Library, Room 350
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
785-864-8907