Starting Points
- ProQuest statistical insight This link opens in a new windowIncludes statistical data produced by the U.S. government; international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.
- FedStats
"provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information."
- Roper iPoll This link opens in a new windowProvided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of poll data anywhere—from 1935 to present. Contains data from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and U.S. datasets available for immediate download.
- Childstats.gov
"The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. ... The mission of the Forum is to foster coordination and collaboration and to enhance and improve consistency in the collection and reporting of Federal data on children and families. The Forum also aims to improve the reporting and dissemination of information on the status of children and families."
United States Statistical Sources
- Social explorer This link opens in a new windowAn online research tool designed to provide easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Contains over 15,000 thematic and interactive maps, the entire U.S. Census from 1790 to 2000, plus the first 2010 data release. Also includes the American Community Survey through the most current release, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2000 with the addition of 2010 and other recent data planned.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsPrincipal fact-finding agency for the federal government in the field of labor economics and statistics.
- State and County QuickFacts (US Census Bureau)Quickly find basic statistics about states and counties in the United States.
- Kansas Statistical AbstractContains the latest available state, county, and city-level data for Kansas on population, vital statistics and health, housing, elections, education, business and manufacturing, exports, employment, income, finance, state and local government, crime, and more.
- Kansas Data (Institute for Policy & Social Research)Find and build tables of Kansas data.
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)Data from several National Center for Education Statistics sources including: The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics.
- Data.gov"The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government."
http://www.data.gov/ - Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics"Data tables on criminal justice topics from over 100 sources are presented at this indexed and fully searchable site."
http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/ - Historical statistics of the United StatesContains over 37,000 different time-series statistics providing a quantitative view into American history, Colonial Times to the present.
- Inter-university consortium for political and social research This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. Anyone may search the database however, only KU affiliates may set-up the necessary account to download data.
For more information, contact Jamene Brooks Kieffer, ICPSR liaison (askalib@ku.edu).
Subject Guides
Ask a Librarian
