Chicago Manual of Style
Secondary Sources
- America: history and life This link opens in a new windowScholarly material covering history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly research covering history and culture across the globe, excluding the US and Canada.
- SPORTDiscus with full text This link opens in a new windowPrimary and secondary books and journals covering all aspects of leisure of sport. Many of the journal articles are full text.
- Sociological abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociologist write about history and their old research can become a primary source.
- Anthropology plus This link opens in a new windowIndexes materials from anthropology, archaeology, and related fields.
Electronic Books
- Google book search This link opens in a new windowGoogle Book Search contains a diverse collection of books. Although much of the material is older, there is a growing amount of current information. Google Books is a great place to do keyword searching on topics within monographs.
- HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new windowThis large digital library includes the collections of many of the United States' largest research collections. KU's membership in the trust grants our patrons the ability to download entire works that are out of copyright.
- Internet ArchiveThis digital crowd sourced archive contains all type of materials.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowOver 20,000 academic titles that cover all fields. A great feature of this database is that you can keyword search all the titles. It is a great way to uncover people, organizations, and other ideas within the pages.
Traditional Print Books
There are two primary ways to identify books. One is searching catalogs, like the KU Libraries Catalog and WorldCat. The other is to utilize bibliographies from books and articles. Once you have a title of a work, use a catalogs to determine if it is at KU or available for Interlibrary Loan.
- KU Libraries CatalogThe KU Libraries Catalog identifies materials available on campus. Use a Keyword search to start--then use subject headings to find additional materials.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat can be used to identify primary and secondary sources not held in the KU collection. Once identified, materials can be request through Interlibrary Loan.
Select Primary Sources
- Associated Press This link opens in a new windowAccess over 180 years of photographs from the Associate Press.
- C19, the nineteenth century index This link opens in a new windowThis index contains citations to US and British materials covering the 19th and early 20th century. Among the indexes are Poole's and the British Periodical Index.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (1–4) This link opens in a new windowEnglish language materials from the US and UK covering aspects of film, music, radio, and theater.
- Roper iPoll This link opens in a new windowUS public opinion including Gallop polls and those from the major TV networks. Coverage starts in the 1930s.
- Life Magazine Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowDigital archive of one of the 20th centuries iconic magazines.
- Lily: a temperance and feminist newspaper, 1849-1856 This link opens in a new windowThe feminist newspaper started by Amalia Bloomer, the dress reformer.
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources covering topics from music to fashion to film.
- Reader's guide retrospective This link opens in a new windowAn index to popular periodical literature of the 20th century. Most materials indexed are American. A few are European and Canadian.
- Vogue archive This link opens in a new windowSearch the entire run of the US edition of Vogue, including photos and advertisements, starting in 1892.
- Women and social movements in the United States. Basic edition This link opens in a new windowAmong the social movements included are dress reform and recreation.
- Victorian popular culture This link opens in a new windowContains a wide range of material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain, and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930.
Relevant Print Indexes
These indexes are excellent tools to find primary sources from 20th century periodicals. The links provided are to just one of the many entries for the title. If the link doesn't include the years you need use the "Continues" and "Continued by" to find the location of the volume you need.
- British Humanities IndexKU has most dates from 1917 to 2006.
- Canadian Periodical IndexThis index, which has many name variations, covers the literature from Canada. More recent years also index films.
- Index to Periodical Articles by and About BlacksAs the title suggest this index covers literature related to African Americans. KU has volumes from 1950 to 1998.
- International Index to PeriodicalsThis index, which has three different titles, indexes materials from 1913 to 1960. As the title implies the periodicals, many of which are in English, are from around the world.
- Readers’ Guide to Periodical LiteratureThis American Index covers popular periodical literature. 1900 to 1994 is available in Watson.
- Subject Index to PeriodicalsPublished in London, this index mostly includes British titles. KUs holdings range from 1915 to 2006.
Subject Guide
Sara Morris
Contact:
Watson Library, Room 350
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
785-864-8907
Streaming Video
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowA large collection of videos, including news newsreels and documentaries. Each film has searchable transcripts which is really helpful for academic research. Included in this database are episodes of Sixty Minutes.
- Films on demand This link opens in a new windowThis database contains both primary and secondary sources. The newsreels are excellent at helping to understand much of the 20th century.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowA collection of streaming videos that includes feature films, documentaries, and historical films.