This is the "Getting started" page of the "Art History Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art History Resources   Tags: art, art_history, images  

Basic sources for researching an art historical topic including finding books, journal articles, biographies, images, and web directories.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.ku.edu/art Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

KU Library Catalog

KU Catalog Search collections available in all library locations at the Univ. of Kansas

 

Other Library Catalogs

WorldCat Includes millions of records describing items owned by OCLC member libraries, including the KU Libraries.

Catalog for the Spencer Art Library at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art Located in Kansas City, MO, this art research library is open to the public but must be used on-site. The hours are listed on the library website.  

Lawrence Public Library in Lawrence, KS Located at 7th & Vermont, this public library has a good art collection.  

 

Overviews

Cover Art
Look!: the Fundamentals of Art History - Anne D’Alleva
Call Number: N 345.D26 2010
Introduces the methodologies of art history; discusses basic art historical practices, such as visual and contextual analysis, and provides guidelines for writing papers and taking examinations in art history.

Cover Art
History of Art: a Students’ Handbook / - Marcia Pointon; with the assistance of Lucy Peltz
Call Number: N380 .P56 1997
Covers training and vocational aspects of Art History, providing a wealth of information on the different kinds of courses available on the relationship between, for example, museum and gallery work and academic Art History.

 
 

Terminology

ArtLex: Art Dictionary Definitions along with thousands of supporting images, pronunciation notes, quotations and cross-references.

Oxford Art Online Gateway to the Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources with more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, and 40,000 image links.  

Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms Over 2000 entries covering painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day plus a table of the dynasties of Ancient Greece, Ancient Egypt, China, India and Japan
 

Web Directories

Websites organized by category and subcategory assembled by specialists in the subject field.  

ART-Guide A collection of Art History Internet Resources from the Univ. of Heidelberg providing access to art history websites, such as subject gateways, image databases, search engines, or mailing lists. The collection covers the full range of European medieval, modern, and contemporary art history, and Aesthetics

Art History Resources on the Web Directory of art history links organized by time period and location. Extensive list of links to museums and galleries section organized by country.

Intute: Humanities Directory of web resources available by keyword searching and browsing posted by staff at three British universities.   

Voice of the Shuttle Directory of websites related to the Humanities with divisions such as Architecture Art (Modern & Contemporary), Art History, etc.

Art & Architecture Librarian

Profile Image
Susan Craig
Contact Info
Phone: (785) 864-3020
Email: scraig@ku.edu
Location: Art & Architecture Library
 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip