Skip to main content

Antiques & Collectibles: Getting Started

Information resources for researching, valuing, and documenting antiques and collectibles.

KU Library Catalog

KU Catalog Search collections available in all library locations at the Univ. of Kansas.

Other Nearby Library Collections

Public Libraries are often a good source for books on antiques and collectibles. Here's links to the websites for three nearby libraries:   

Lawrence Public Library in Lawrence, KS Located at 7th & Vermont, this public library has a good art collection.  

Topeka Shawnee County Public Library Located at 10th & Washburn in Topeka, TSCPL has great collections and a lovely Art Gallery with changing exhibitions.

Johnson County Public Library With 13 locations throughout Johnson County and a collection of over 1 million volumes, this is collection has hundreds of books on antiques and collectible.

Selected Journals

Antiques & Collecting Magazine KU offers issues from 1995-June 2011 online. Magazine changed title in July 2011 to Treasures: Antique to Modern Collecting. Features articles on collecting antiques for dealers and hobbyists.

Magazine Antiques Formerly Antiques.  Begun in 1928, this is the premier journal regarding antique furniture but it also covers paintings, architecture, glass, and textiles.

Antiques Roadshow Insider 2006-. Contains news about the world of antiques and collectibles.

Definitions

An antique is an old collectible item. It is collected or desirable because of its age, rarity, condition, utility, or other unique features. Usually it is an object that represents a previous era in human society. Antiques are usually objects which show some degree of craftsmanship, or a certain attention to design such as a piece of furniture or an early automobile.

A collectible typically describes a manufactured item designed for people to collect. In this respect, they are distinguishable from other subjects of collections, which may also include natural objects (e.g., butterflies) and objects manufactured for purposes other than collecting (e.g., stamps). Some objects designed for other purposes, such as toys, become so popular among collectors that they are later marketed specifically to that audience.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Books on Specific Antiques

Fine Arts & Humanities Librarian

Andi Back
Contact:
Art & Architecture Library

(785) 864-3020

aback@ku.edu

Research Help

We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.