Search Tips
Searching Strategies for Library Resources for Linguistics
To search for books at KU: Library Catalog (http://www.lib.ku.edu) Catalog: books and more link on left navigation bar, See also http://guides.lib.ku.edu/content.php?pid=44470&sid=350985 for suggested Linguistics subject headings.
To search for books at other Libraries: Worldcat (or Databases >> W then scroll down to Worldcat
To search for Journal titles, not articles: You can search the Library catalog by title. Both paper and electronic journals will be included. If you know the journal is electronic or only want electronic journals, then you can use the Ejournals search in left navigation bar.
To search for individual article: The most effective way to search for articles is to go directly to the most appropriate database for your topic. For Linguistics I have listed these most important databases at http://guides.lib.ku.edu/linguistics . For most Linguistics topics Language Behavior Abstracts will be your primary databases for searching articles.
To search for individual article: The most effective way to search for articles is to go directly to the most appropriate database for your topic. For Linguistics I have listed these most important databases at http://guides.lib.ku.edu/linguistics . For most Linguistics topics Language Behavior Abstracts will be your primary databases for searching articles.
LLBA (Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts)
Tips on LLBA: LLBA is a citation databases; it does not contain full text.
Please be aware that LLBA's default Quick Search assumes a phrase search, so you may wish to use and where appropriate. E.g. Arabic dialects will only retrieve that string, and might miss text that includes Dialects of Arabic.
In order to see if KU has access to either the electronic full text or paper version of your article, you must click the blue KULink button.
This will attempt to identify the full-text options. It is not infallible but usually works. Often the same text will be available in several full-text pages. Please pay attention to the range of dates for coverage in each database, as it will tell you if your article is available. If KU doesn’t not have access to the journal electronically, chose “Search the KU library catalog by journal/book title” to see if we have the paper version.
Please be aware that LLBA's default Quick Search assumes a phrase search, so you may wish to use and where appropriate. E.g. Arabic dialects will only retrieve that string, and might miss text that includes Dialects of Arabic.
In order to see if KU has access to either the electronic full text or paper version of your article, you must click the blue KULink button.
Geoff Husic
Geoff Husic
Contact:
Slavic, Linguistics, and Near East Studies Librarian
Room 519 Watson Library
University of Kansas
1425 Jayhawk Blvd
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
Voice 785-864-3957
FAX 785-864-3850
husic@ku.edu
Room 519 Watson Library
University of Kansas
1425 Jayhawk Blvd
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
Voice 785-864-3957
FAX 785-864-3850
husic@ku.edu